4 Tips For Connecting With Nature

Illumination 100 Day Writing Challenge: Day 29

Josh O'Neill
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

The global pandemic changed everything. No longer could we travel freely to new places and immerse ourselves in new cultures. We were grounded to our homes and local supermarkets. We had to learn to value our daily walks around local parks or deserted city streets. Finding a passion and connection with the natural world allows a change within the mind. It calms and relaxes us.

I am fortunate enough to have green spaces readily accessible to where I live. By being in these spaces I feel connected to something greater than myself. The feeling is unique and it cannot be replicated artificially.

Here are some of the ways I use to connect with nature to look after my health, both physical and mental.

Exercise Outdoors

When gyms were closed, I did not want to exercise indoors. I found it too stuffy and warm. Getting outside allowed me to feel spacious in my surroundings and could you the environment to my advantage. I used different areas of my garden when different movements.

Going a run through the park helps too. Maybe even a trail run.

Going a walk in the woods or a forest allows you to become lost but remain calm at the same time.

--

--

Josh O'Neill
ILLUMINATION

Engineer | Coach | Health | Fitness | You can find my weekly newsletter here https://www.joshoneill.co.uk/