4 ways having a sister has shaped me as a man.

She is a blessing.

The Mbbs Boy
ILLUMINATION
3 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Photo by Kevin Gent on Unsplash

To begin with,

Having a sister was always something I wanted. Every time I heard my friends talking about their sisters, my heart always wondered what having a sister felt like. I felt the absence mostly on Raksha Bandhan and Bhai Dhuj( Two Indian Festival dedicated to brother and sister). On those occasions, my wrist was always empty and it ached my heart.

My cousin sister was born and she is 6 years younger than me. I still remember holding the little soul in my arms for the first time. I was crying.

Here’s what happened after that.

#1 Responsibility

When I held her for the first time, I promised I would protect her no matter what. She is a treasure to me, and we value her the same way. After she walked into my life, an innate sense of responsibility grew inside me. That made me feel more mature than my age. Looking after her, taking care of her, listening to her boring stories, and everything in between.

#2 Empathy

I have an elder brother. Two years older than me. He and I pretty much had the same attitude, whatever happens just dust it off and move on.

Until she happened, we realized the gift of empathy(an inherent feminine quality I suppose). I learned to be more empathetic and I have tried not to judge people. Because everyone’s story is different and I am no one to judge because I am not perfect either.

#3 Respect, Equality, and Support

Apart from responsibility respect was mutual. Learning to respect the opposite gender was mainly from my mother and sister in particular. I always had my deepest respect and love for her.

Though younger than us, I have never demeaned her in any way and have always supported her endeavors. Told her she is not equal to me but better.

She still manages to support me with her cute words. I have always sensed a supportive and accepting aura from her.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

#4 Emotional Intelligence and Character.

Among various emotions, I learned the value of emotions. She has taught me the value of emotions in relations and helped me navigate through life with ease. This ability to be emotionally sound and available has not only helped in my relationships but also in my professional domains.

Having a sister, helped me grow my character as a man. I have respect for her and all women overall. I learned how to talk to women with empathy. I learned how to be soft-spoken and appreciate women.

End Notes

She is a blessing as I have already mentioned. I am more than blessed to have a sister.

She has shaped my character, and ability to navigate emotions, and overall helped me as a person. I am still growing. Having a younger sister and elder brother has profoundly helped me grow into a better man. Every relationship offers vivid learning, protecting your persons and learning from them.

Hope I can become a better brother than I am already.

Like my article? Subscribe here.

--

--

The Mbbs Boy
ILLUMINATION

23| Intern Doctor | Personal Development | Health | Mental Health.