5–4–3–2–1 Do It!

The 5-second rule from Mel Robbins

Desiree
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I want to get up at 5 am and go for a run; I struggle.

I want to journal every day; I struggle to be consistent.

I want to eat healthy foods. Ugh, I struggle to keep doing it.

There are so many things that I know I should do, but I find it hard. I start out well, but I flounder after a while. We want to make good changes to our lives, and we know we should do them consistently, but it’s hard to sustain. There are many people out there who use different methods to get things done.

Mel Robbins, one of my favorite podcasters whom I have been following for a while, has a way to help.

The 5-Second Rule

The 5-second rule helps us move from thinking to doing. We’ve only a 5-second window to act, so fear and doubt can’t creep in and stop us.

Here is how it works:

“The moment you feel yourself hesitate before doing something that you know you should do, count five-four-three-two-one-GO and move towards action. If you don’t move in five seconds, your mental habits take over and kill your instinct to change, innovate, or step outside your comfort zone”- Mel Robbins

--

--

Desiree
ILLUMINATION

I am an educator, solo female traveler, and lifelong learner on a mission to enjoy life after 50. By sharing lessons, I help midlife women lead joyful lives.