Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

5 Artists My 9-Year-Old Son Has Introduced Me To

From CrashAdams to Travis Scott, suits to grillz, pop to rap

Karen Rosinger
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2023

--

When I look back at my child and teenage hood in rural Denmark (basically every part outside of Copenhagen) in the 80s, it’s through a neon-coloured layer upon layer of insecurity, unrequited love, braces, friends, books and magazines, spending loads of time alone in my room, each wall covered with posters of the biggest artists from the era, and listening to MUSIC.

Wham!, A-ha, Duran Duran, Madonna over to Depeche Mode, U2, the Cure

My son has developed a liking and enjoyment to music I could only have hoped for and has introduced me to new artists and songs in the process.

Below are his latest finds and I look forward to adding to the list as he grows older:

CrashAdams

“Mum, come and have a look at this!” An eager Stefan made me sit down next to him and look at, yet another, YouTube video. However, this one was different: It didn’t involve cars, footballers, people commenting whilst playing Minebox or Robocraft, no this one sucked me in. A new fan of CrashAdams was born. Just have a look at and listen to Give Me a Kiss

(This was the first one he showed me which lead me to watch more. And more…)

The singer kind of reminds me of my divorce lawyer — not that he waltzed into the courtroom in a suit holding a microphone pleading my case in lyrics with his guitar playing friend by his side. Had he done that everything might have turned out differently. (And not necessarily better for me.)

Lil Nas X

The way I found out who was behind Montero was when Stefan one day came home from school and asked me: “Mum, do you know the song that goes like this?” followed up by some humming.

The song in question had been played on repeat on Energy Zürich for the past couple of months and I always turned the volume up. There was just something about it, even though the lyrics perhaps weren’t in line with the subjects we normally discuss and many of the words used not part of our daily vocabulary.

In Switzerland nothing gets censored which means I’ve had to explain the meaning of certain words. This has been an interesting exercise and I think (hope) I managed to keep an open mind whilst still tailoring my explanations to the expected knowledge of someone who’s still a child.

Imagine Dragons

I was aware of this group before but only really got hooked when Stefan started belting out Bones in the shower.

He’s got this lovely habit of wanting music during his shower sessions — which are getting longer and longer — and most times has one specific song on repeat.

24kGoldn

Really only just the song Mood. We listened to the album El Dorado and found the other songs quite boring and same-ish. But it still deserves a mention here as I love how all over the place his taste is.

Travis Scott

Here we’re not in agreement regarding which version of Goosebumps we prefer. I like the remix with HVME better than the original from the album Birds in the Trap Sing McKnight.

Before I hit ‘publish’, I would like to send a heartfelt ‘thank you’ to Apple music for info on the right spelling of artist names / bands / albums etc.

--

--

Karen Rosinger

Writer of anything I find interesting or am curious about. Mixing seriousness with the absurd and a sense of humor through various genres. Knitting is my drug.