5 Books for the Modern Plant Parent

Catelyn Silapachai
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2022

--

Pic by cottonbro

Wild at Home by Hilton Carter

This book was my gateway into the world of indoor plants. I had just started developing a plant addition in 2020 (like so many others!) when I read “Wild at Home.” After I feasted my eyes on the maximalist plant aesthetic in the pages of Carter’s book, I felt full permission to start to really expand my plant collection. Carter’s love of plants goes beyond just aesthetics; he really cares about the well-being of his living organisms. Hilton Carter was the first example I had seen of someone who decorated their home with an abundance of plants while giving practical tips on how to love each house plant into full health.

Wild Interiors by Hilton Carter

Carter’s second book is a collection of plant parent home tours. The photos are beautiful, inspirational, and intimate. I often flip through this book during stressful times, just to relax a bit. As in his first book, he pays equal attention to the beauty of decorating with plants as he does actual plant care. I learned so much about where to place certain plants around my home just by observing the lighting that works well for different plants in the homes Carter showcases. He also suggests plants that group well together in different rooms of the home.

Green by Jason Chongue

--

--

Catelyn Silapachai
ILLUMINATION

I write about books, parenting, politics, and religion. I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, daughter, dogs, and plants.