5 Health Benefits of Meditation That People Don’t Know About

The benefits that made me stick to the habit of meditation.

Tulsi
ILLUMINATION
2 min readDec 5, 2021

--

Buddhist Meditation Woman — Free photo on Pixabay

Meditation is an extremely healthy habit.

Regular meditation can have positive effects on overall well-being of your mind and body. I have been meditating regularly since past 5 years and I have been benefited tremendously. All my health issues have been healed inwardly.

The most important word here is ‘Regularly’. Here is how regular meditation has benefited my overall health:

1.Weight-loss.

Surprisingly, my weight which was stagnant for longest time started reducing.

I was 4kgs overweight and doctor had advised me to reduce my weight. No diet plan or exercise seemed to work on me. But as I started meditating, even though weight loss was not my intention, I lost 6kgs in just few months.

When you start meditating body becomes more aware and starts healing itself. And as a result people see required changes in their body weight.

2.Change in eating habits.

There was a tremendous shift in my eating habits which even surprised my mom.

I started eating more healthy and energetic foods. Eating healthy is the most important thing in keeping mind and body healthy. For meditation, you require a lot of energy and to keep up with that energy body naturally asks for more energetic food.

Healthy eating habits definitely benefit in long term as well.

3.Reduced stress.

There was a rapid decline in my stress levels.

I started managing my stress in day to day activities. Stress has the same damaging effect on your body as smoking everyday. It’s very important to learn how to manage your stress.

Once you learn how to manage your stress, nothing can stop you from having a healthy lifestyle.

4.Enhanced immunity.

All the healthy habits stated above result in increased immunity.

I don’t remember falling extremely sick in last 2–3 years. With the rise in new diseases nowadays its very important to have good immunity. It’s a necessity to have healthy habits to increase your immunity.

And meditation can help in building healthy habits.

5.Change in body-cycle.

Meditation fixed my body-cycle and sleep-cycle.

I started waking up early naturally.

“Early to bed, early to rise makes you healthy, wealthy and wise.”

Waking up early can have innumerable benefits on your body and mind. And meditation can help you in fixing your sleep-cycle like nothing else.

Note: Previously published on Quora

--

--

Tulsi
ILLUMINATION

Meditation and spirituality have helped me rebuild my body, mind and soul. I love reading, speaking to people and helping living beings.