5 Life Skills Marching Band Taught Me

There’s more to it than playing an instrument.

Ashley Nicole
ILLUMINATION

--

Throughout high school, I participated in the marching band. Through my experiences as a band geek, I learned important lessons I use in my career today. I learned skills that are transferable, regardless of your field, and are desirable to any employer. These are 5 skills that I learned from my time in the marching band.

1. Discipline

Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Marching band is a demanding activity- both physically and mentally. To master the choreography and memorize the music, you must practice a lot in addition to rehearsals. Pushing yourself to practice daily requires discipline.

Having the discipline to constantly exercise your skills will set you apart. Even if you’re not in a challenging role currently, you can still learn and grow your skills outside of work. Pushing yourself to perform at your best can be grueling, but will pay off in the long run, whether it’s through accolades, recognition, or promotions.

2. Time Management

--

--

Ashley Nicole
ILLUMINATION

Lover of puns. I make films, games, & other fun stuff. Check out my art, writing, and more: linktr.ee/aloop