5-Minute Movie Review: Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

8.7/10 — classic mash-up of faves

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Ravit Sages on Unsplash

Synopsis/ idea: Shang-Chi, son of two fancy superhero parents, escapes to the States the burden of his dad’s wishes to revive his mom because being an assassin was … a lot for a teen. The 9-tailed fox appears in this show. So do dragons. This is a terrible synopsis. (Movie).

Why I started watching this show

After hearing rave reviews from friends, I was intrigued! I also followed Simu Liu on Instagram for a while and he has a really good social media presence, so this movie was top of mind for a long time. What really sealed the deal was when I found out Fala Chen (a long-time favourite actress that I’ve grown up with on Hong Kong tv shows) was also a part of this, and I needed to see this.

Three (3) reasons I recommend this show

[1] Did I mention there’s a DRAGON?!?!?

On the one hand, this seems like a spoiler. On the other hand, I would also find it hard to believe that a superhero movie centred on mythical Chinese legends would not have one of the most important mythical creatures: the dragon.

[2] The dynamic between Simu Liu and…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.