5 Poems Sharing Human Reactions to COVID

Responses to COVID through different lenses

Brenda Mahler
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJun 8, 2021

--

Photo by Mohammad Ali Jafarian on Unsplash

Last year while scrolling through social media, I encounter all the hues of emotions: denial, anger, depression, resolution, contentment. I desired to record the thoughts and emotions of individuals during this unprecedented event in history and create poems from their responses, snapshots of a moment in time.

With a desire to illuminate people, I developed an activity to connect faces to this insidious disease, Faces of Coronavirus. Everyone who participated was asked the same questions and their responses grew into poems. The final products shared similarities but the speakers approached the topic through their individual experiences, offering their perspective through a different colored lens.

As the barriers between us are slowly coming down and our smiles reappear from behind the masks, I have been revisiting the memories of the pandemic. Five of the poems are shared below. Enjoy!

Garden of Hope

A snake crawled into my garden
He’s a garter snake causing no harm
Except to my repose
But his presence set off alarms
I inhaled the colors and smells of life
With a cup of coffee in my hand
I celebrated the moment so precious, so grand

--

--

Brenda Mahler
ILLUMINATION

Real life person sharing real life stories. Writing about travel, dogs, and healthy lifestyles.