5 Quotes About Death That Remind Us to Live

It’s all about embracing the challenge and enjoying the moments.

Amy Lee Kite
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readFeb 10, 2022

--

Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

Ever since I can remember, I have always been fascinated with the concept of death. My first journals from my adolescent years are full of poems and sayings about the meaning of life.

As a child, when I tried to grapple with concepts such as the size of our planet, galaxy, and universe, I could only find comfort and meaning in words. I would write, read and listen and try to figure out what this whole living thing was all about.

Decades later, the same holds true. I am continually drawn to concepts of life, death, and meaning, and I am continually comforted by words of those who are similarly trying to live full lives of meaning.

The unknown and the unanswerable questions have never been something that I have feared, but rather something that has gotten me thinking, philosophizing, and, eventually, finding meaning in life. The very concept of death alone has actually motivated me to enjoy each moment and to remember that our time here is finite and relatively short.

Some of my favorite quotes about death contain thoughts that have shaped my own thinking and helped me to find continual beauty and passion for living.

1. “The fear of death…

--

--

Amy Lee Kite
ILLUMINATION

Writer, editor, poet, mom, dog lover. Author of children’s books on tough topics. amyleekite.com