Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

5 Quotes by Seneca That Will Change How You See The World

Tim J. Schröder
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readJan 5, 2024

--

Are you ready to look at things from a different POV?

Then, fasten your seatbelt to tap into Seneca’s Stoic wisdom we could use more of nowadays. He understood what life is all about. And although we think we’re as clever as no one before, his ancient wisdom proves us wrong.

Here are 5 quotes by Seneca that’ll change how you see the world.

“We suffer more often in imagination than in reality.”

It’s all in your head.

Man, what I’ve suffered only in my imagination. I remember back in 2019 after I just came back from Southeast Asia and having spent almost all my savings, I worried. A lot.

About my professional future because I didn’t want to let my Bachelor’s go to waste. Because I had no perspective, after starting to work in a bar.

Even when my mother turned 60, and we flew out to Curaçao to celebrate, I’d worry the whole time about what would happen next. Insecure as I was, I thought I’d never get a fitting job. Leaving me behind, living at my parents’ have no chance to like what I’m doing.

What happened in the end?

I had a good time working in the bar, made a friend for life, and moved to the UK to start…

--

--

Tim J. Schröder
ILLUMINATION

Lifelong learner | Earned $200,000 ghostwriting | On my quest to discover and share what it takes to become a successful online writer |