5 Reasons You Are Scared of Accepting Help

It’s time to accept you’ll never be perfect.

Gemma Linney
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Nate Neelson on Unsplash

“Vulnerability is not winning or losing; it’s having the courage to show up and be seen when we have no control over the outcome.” — Brene Brown

It takes a lot to admit ‘defeat.’

Through the worst days of my life, I have kept all my struggles pent up in my weary aching heart. I was too embarrassed to tell anyone what I was going through; too embarrassed even to see a Doctor. When my relatives wrote to me I would respond in a happy, cheerful tone that exhausted me even to write. I avoided anyone who would see through to what was really going on. I avoided all close relationships and suffered in silence.

I often look back at my past mistakes and wonder ‘why?’

When I could have reached out for help so easily, why didn’t I? Why did I make things infinitely worse for myself and not even see it?

1. Perfectionism

Do you constantly compare yourself to others? Do you feel caged by an inner critic that tells you you are not doing enough, that your best efforts are simply not good enough? Perfectionists often have a black-and-white mindset; in which they view anything other than perfection as a failure. What causes this perfectionism is a mystery, however…

--

--

Gemma Linney
ILLUMINATION

Utilizing the beauty of words to tell stories and spread hope.