5 Simple Tasks That’ll Lead to Your Dream Apartment

Mieli Williams
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readNov 17, 2022

Here are 5 apartment hunting tasks (with examples) that’ll simplify your apartment hunt before you even step outside!

Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

With the rise in housing costs, more individuals and families are choosing to rent. The demand spike means that even renting is becoming expensive. Still, if you’re going to spend money on an apartment, it better be a great fit! I’ll walk you through 5 basic — but essential — prospects that’ll lead to your perfect place.

My Apartment Experience

Let’s start with the obvious: no one’s born knowing how to find a rental. It’s okay if you don’t know where to start. When I first moved out, I was a young college grad whose entire family lived in the same town all their lives. This meant that 21-year-old me only heard “be safe” and “choose a nice neighborhood” as advice. All the comments were nice, but surface-level.

Ironically, that’s exactly what became of my first apartment. I wanted a sitcom-Esque spot that’s cluttered in an aesthetically-pleasing way and would become a hub for all my friends. (Imagine any Freeform set.) Accordingly, I went all-in on aesthetics and found a downtown apartment with an outdoor pool, marble countertops, and a nice gym. Sounds nice, right? In reality, it was a horribly expensive apartment filled with obnoxious, dirty roommates and a $100/month parking fee. The countertops don’t make a difference when they’re covered with trash and you can’t sleep or cook in peace.

After a traumatic year, I ended my lease and found a new, beloved apartment. You shouldn’t have to hate your life (and visit your parents for weeks at a time) for an entire year like me. So here are some foundational steps any first-time mover can take.

Photo by Luke van Zyl on Unsplash

1. Make an NWH List

NWH stands for needs, wants, and hates. With needs, I don’t mean solely physical needs like a fridge to store food; I mean mental survival needs. You could be in a gorgeous rental property and hate every hour of the day because you’re losing your mental or emotional stability.

Start by defining your needs. What living conditions are not negotiable for you? These needs don’t have to be conventional — they just have to match you. For example, are you someone who experiences cold seasonal depression? This won’t fix it, but try an apartment with plenty of natural and artificial light.

Wants are exactly as they sound: amenities or conditions you’d appreciate, but could still exist without. This might be a communal indoor bike rack for your morning rides or a mail room so strangers don’t approach your front door. Hates are conditions you can’t stand and could make you break your lease early.

The list sounds extremely simple but requires a lot of thought. Not having decisive NWHs means you’re likely to settle and be swindled into anything. Here’s a sample of my NWHs that guided me.

  • N: free parking, quiet atmosphere, on-site or in-room laundry, within 30 mins to the job
  • W: secure doors, elevators, pre-installed WiFi cables, and on-site gym
  • H: Roommates, thin walls, and/or constant parties
Photo by Cathryn Lavery on Unsplash

2. Decide Your Ideal Location & Proximity

After defining your NWHs, visualize a location. How close do you want to be to your family? Or to your job? Are you looking for a city with lots of local transportation? Or are you interested in rural areas? Pick an ideal location and start considering anything within a 50-mile radius.

When I first moved out, my remote job only required me to live in a specific state. I wasn’t familiar with the state, so these parameters didn’t help at all. I ended up choosing a location that had several friends within a 30-minute drive and nearby businesses with future job opportunities. This was the best decision, especially since I started hating that remote job after 4 months and I found a new job in my area.

Photo by X on Unsplash

3. Take an Inventory of What You Have

Taking inventory refers to deciding what you’d take with you on the move. Do you have a lot of clothes you want to bring? You’ll need an apartment with great closet space. Do you have pets you can’t live without? Consider a pet-friendly apartment with low pet rent.

With my collector tendencies, I knew I needed an expansive apartment. I found one with a walk-in closet and extra storage containers on-site. Sadly, I underestimated my kitchen supplies, so 15% of my walk-in are pots that didn’t fit in my cupboards. Don’t be like me!

Photo by Sarah Brown on Unsplash

4. (Learn to) Set a Budget

Budgeting is an important part of apartment hunting. You don’t want to fall in love with an apartment, sign the lease, and then be evicted 3 months later because you can’t afford it. It’s essential to know your limits.

Fortunately, suggestions 1–3 on this list will help with budgeting. Plan to automatically finance your Ns and Hs while (ideally) leaving money for your Ws. Location plays a huge role in apartment costs, so adjust your budget to the cost of living in that city. Taking inventory means knowing how much space you’ll have to finance and what items you’ll want to buy for the future move.

I’ll make a follow-up article on budgeting, but here are some quick tips I use:

  • Create a bill tracking section so you can remember consistent costs and save confirmation numbers
  • Combine your bills and savings into one amount each month. That’s money you’re only allowed to spend during emergencies.
  • Set specific categories in a regulated budget. Ex: $200 for groceries, $50 for takeout, $100 for friend activities or hangs, etc.
  • Always have an ‘unexpected’ category with money budgeted for it.
Photo by Microsoft 365 on Unsplash

5. Pair Your Apartment Hunt with Great Food

With decisions 1–4 made, starting #5 is much less intimidating. You know what you’re looking for, what you’re avoiding, where you want to be, and how much you’re able to spend. Go for it! And when it gets depressing (as all searches eventually do), take a minute to lift your spirits. For me, that’s eating a good dinner during particularly stressful days.

And that’s it! You’re ready to find your next apartment. Good luck!

Thanks for reading! I hope this helps any first-time apartment hunters! I’ll be making follow-up articles on apartment tours and budgeting for beginners. If you enjoyed this article, consider following my profile, perusing this publication, or leaving a tip. Have a lovely day!

--

--

Mieli Williams
ILLUMINATION

Writer of personal experiences and pop culture. Social media content creator and digital marketer.