5 Valuable Lessons from Phil Knight’s Shoe Dog

Muhammad Zunair
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readMay 5, 2020

--

4. Fail Fast

From my Photos

A couple of months ago, I bought Phil Knight’s Shoe Dog from a roadside stall and the main attraction for me to buy this book was that infamous Nike ‘swoosh’ on the cover. For those who don’t know me, I’m a huge Nike fan and anything with a Nike ‘swoosh’ on it doesn’t fail to allure me. So, I bought the book with the hope of reading it one day.

Luckily, that day happened to be the very next day. I had a lot of free time on my hands and the book also ‘appeared’ to be worth-reading so, I started reading it right away.

However, there was a minute problem.

Back in those days, I had this bad habit of leaving books just after reading a couple of pages/chapters, without ever finishing them. In other words, I wasn’t a passionate reader. For instance, before starting Shoe Dog, I already had about 20 books, sitting on the shelf, unread. I had no problem in terms of starting a book, but after a few of pages/chapters, I used to bog down, leaving the book unread.

Fortunately, it was a completely different story this time. As I started reading the book, I got hooked. And within a week, I finished it. I know, there a lot of people, who could’ve finished it in a day but given my poor track record with books, it was a kind of achievement.

--

--

Muhammad Zunair
ILLUMINATION

27-year old child -- trying to exist amid this chaos by penning down his thoughts on philosophy, psychology, history & an eclectic mix of topics.