5 Ways to Improve Your Typing Speed

We’re going to talk about how to improve your typing speed.

Carin Luca
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMay 29, 2022

--

Photo from Daniel Thomas by Unsplash

Today, we’re talking about a topic which is very close to my heart. Fast typing is a superpower nowadays.

I think anyone can become at least twice as productive if you just improve your typing speed.

I’m going to go over 3 actionable practical ways how you can improve your typing speed so that you can become a productivity nerd. In case you’re wondering I hit around 55–60 WPM (words per minute).

Posture

This is the most important way to become a fast typer. Your back should be aligned with the back of your chair with your elbows bent and both feet flat on the ground to maintain proper posture will make your typing experience more comfortable.

Photo from Business Insider by Google

Hand placement

For hand placement, you should place your fingers so that your Left index finger must be on the F key and your Right index must be on the J key, you can also feel a bump on these keys. Through this, your fingers should fall naturally along the middle row of the keyboard.

Photo by Google

In order to limit finger gymnastics, your pinky should be in charge of pressing the shift key and your thumbs are responsible for the spacebar. Likewise, adjust the rest of the fingers accordingly.

Muscle Memory

The best way to develop muscle memory is to train yourself to touch type which means to type without looking down at the keyboard.

Open up a blank word document and start typing words that come to your mind. Don’t worry too much about speed focus on limiting typos.

I think it’s very tempting to look at the keyboard initially, to overcome this you can purchase a blank keyboard or key covers to hide keys. Another option is that you activate the on-screen keyboard.

Practice

Once you feel comfortable touch typing you’re ready to hit the tracks speed tests.

Speed tests are a great way to practice. Check this website, here you can compete with others users across the globe. You can also check this website.

As you know mastering anything requires time and practice means performing, over and over again in the face of all obstacles finally, it makes you perfect in that particular niche.

Treat it as game

We always want to be treating improving our typing speed kind of a game and we always want to be improving for me I know the next stage of my improvement as a typist is to hit 100 WPM.

I’m still trying to improve and I kind of treat it as a game and I think that’s one of the most important things like it’s a skill that can be improved.

My life significantly since I developed the ability to type fast and so yeah I would just encourage you to treat it like a game so that you’ll also improve and become a productivity guru.

I hope you found this article valuable. If you want to know more about these techniques just let me know in the comments.

Happy Reading!

--

--

Carin Luca
ILLUMINATION

I write about human psychology , love and relations