50+ articles, 365 Days and 0 $

Muhamed Ganijja
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2024

The two most powerful warriors are patience and time.

Leo Tolstoy

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Another year has passed, and with it every success and every loss we had. As this year began, I took some time away from writing to refocus on my other habits. And to relax as the year begins, now I am tossing my foot on the pedal and creating new stories for this year.

I have created new goals and plans for this year, plus I want to share my experiences. This article will be published on different pages for new writers, as my goal is to connect with new writers and share my story arc.

Slow writing process or lazy writer

Even though it has become a long-running joke among writers that we are slow and lazy when it comes to writing, I would say that comes from the perception of non-writers.

But nevertheless, there is a factor of discipline in writing that plays a huge part.

Which is one of my key goals for 2024. I want to refocus on writing on Medium, one of the first steps should be to write at least three times per week. Even though I have gained 500+ followers on Medium over the last year, I would have gained more if I had published more articles.

I fully understand that quality is more important than quantity. But still, that doesn’t give me an excuse to publish once a month.

Here is an example:

This article was published on September 18, 2023. In the article, I explained how to prepare for a 10K race. ( https://medium.com/illumination/how-to-simply-and-efficiently-prepare-for-10-kilometers-or-6-2-miles-dc607a9a240c )

The next article after that one was part of my personal experience in regards to email writing, published on November 7, 2023.

( https://medium.com/illuminations-mirror/understanding-the-biggest-differences-between-writing-articles-and-emails-e4831409cb0c )

Where did it go wrong?

I started 2023 with a tone of desire to publish as much as I could and to make tons of money from the Medium platform. That goal quickly fell apart when I realized that Bosnia and Herzegovina is not part of the Medium Partner Program, so my desire to write slowed down.

I had to find another way to earn money as a writer, but regardless of that, I decided to stay on the platform.

”You should quit.”

Over the last year, even though I did not make money from Medium, I still call myself a Medium writer.

They said “Quit,” but my heart whispered, “write on.”

I’ve always been a writer — not just ink on paper but a weaver of thoughts, a collector of moments. Yet, on Medium, I wanted to build a monetization weeb.

While some may deem it a quixotic quest, I see an opportunity. For me, writing on Medium isn’t just a paycheck pursuit it’s a purpose-driven passion project, a chance to ignite minds and build a thriving community around ideas that matter.

Let the skeptics shrug. Their doubts are mere background noise to the symphony of my keyboard, the rhythm of storytelling that pulses with life. Each crafted sentence, each resonant connection with readers, is a victory in itself.

Every day, I want to approach the blank page not with trepidation but with the entrepreneurial spirit of a seasoned author.

I carve out time in my schedule, not as a chore but as an investment in building a valuable audience — a loyal tribe of readers who resonate with my voice and perspective.

My Medium publication!

Photo by Chris Luengas on Unsplash

This is a small but significant part. By the end of April, I want to publish 25 additional articles, and by the beginning of May 2024, I want to start my Medium publication.

If anyone has any inside advice, I would love to hear it in the comments.

Linkedin…

Photo by Greg Bulla on Unsplash

2023 was an exciting year of my life, but one thing that I want to mention is that during the last months of 2023, I went through a social media detox.

And my conclusion from that detox was that I didn’t need social media, so a few days later, I deleted my Facebook and Twitter accounts.

It is something that has proved fruitful to me, and it has had a trembling impact on my life. With that, I decided to focus more on creating content than consuming content. Over the last period, I have logged in to LinkedIn, and I want to continue as a LinkedIn ghostwriter.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/ghostwritingmuhamed-ganijja

--

--