500 Followers and Counting: What I Learned on My Journey of Building a Following on Medium

Lessons from 500 Followers: What I learned on Medium

Greeshma Manik
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Photo by Prophsee Journals on Unsplash

As I ponder and contemplate my experience of having 500 followers on Medium, I feel a genuine sense of achievement and, more importantly, gratitude. Writing has always been a therapeutic getaway for me to confide my feelings and observations. So, when I started writing on this platform, I wasn't sure of what even I was doing here, and secondly — would even someone read my stories.

But you will never know unless you try, right? So, I tried.

As I slowly continued to write my thoughts and feelings on the subjects I felt comfortable with, I started to see a change. The first change was to get appreciation from someone and, secondly, be followed by people who shared the interest that I wrote about.

Interaction, Engagement, and Connection

The number does matter. Don't get me wrong. But more importantly, it's all about the three important things —

* Interaction 👨🏽‍💻

* Connection 👨🏻‍🤝‍👨🏼

* Engagement 🫱🏼‍🫲🏽

It's been a pleasure to connect with my followers and people whom I follow and get to know that my writing has inspired someone in some way.

Time and Consistency

Building a following and having followers who actually care about your content takes time and consistency. Believe me, I'm still learning this aspect. Sometimes your stories which you felt would perform well, would get fewer readers compared to the stories from which you didn't expect much. Don't expect too much from the results, and rather focus on consistent writing.

Importance of Authenticity

One key lesson that I understood is the value of authenticity and how it will help you to connect with yourself as well as others. This will make more readers connect with your writing. Medium is essentially a place of self-expression where your words make readers connect to genuineness and authenticity.

Conclusion

To summarise, having a good Medium following has enabled me to understand the benefits of authenticity, engagement, and consistency. More importantly, a sense of gratitude 😊.

If you enjoyed reading this article, don’t forget to check out our other ones before you go. I got a whole library of stories, and you don’t want to miss out on the literary feast!

--

--

Greeshma Manik
ILLUMINATION

Software Engineer, Technology Enthusiast and Blogger.