6 Free Online Tools to Improve Your Work

These 6 free tools feel like a cheat code to use!

Kade Maijala
ILLUMINATION
4 min readDec 30, 2022

--

6 Free Online Tools to Improve Your Work
Photo by Lance Grandahl on Unsplash

There are countless programs and tools online that are incredibly useful to complete work in all kinds of fields. Think Adobe Suite, Microsoft Office, or Final Cut Pro. Although useful, the price points can gauge your wallet.

As someone always looking to save money, I’ve focused on improving my work while not breaking the bank. Through this, I have found several practical and easy-to-use tools you can use today free of charge!

These six tools are free to use and have drastically improved the quality of my work. It feels like I’m cheating when I use them, so here they are for you.

This post is not sponsored by any of these companies. I’m not popular enough to get sponsorships — yet.

Grammarly.com

Ahh, yes, a Medium writer’s best friend. Grammarly is the first and most important tool on this list.

I’m sure you’ve heard of it before, but I’m here to cosign with millions of other writers worldwide. Grammarly’s free service saves you time by correcting grammar mistakes, spelling, and tone issues within your writing.

I’m using it right now to edit this post! It takes only one minute of “editing” and some extra proofreading with Grammarly to ensure your work is crystal clear.

Although the free option is excellent, I highly recommend upgrading to the premium version. I know this list is about free tools. Yet, the premium version offers killer features like setting the tone, audience, and more.

Remove.bg

Remove.bg is a lesser-known tool online, but it is worth checking out.

Don’t have Adobe suite tools available to you? Need to remove the background of a photo quickly? You can go to remove it.bg online to instantly remove any location to put a focus on the subject of your picture.

This tool is perfect for profile pictures, video thumbnails, and creating transparent PNG files. I use this tool to make all my YouTube & TikTok thumbnails; it only takes seconds!

Canva.com

Like Grammarly, you’ve probably heard of Canva. It is absolutely the best free tool on the market. A content creator and photo/video editor, Canva is in a league of its own in helping creatives save money while still creating quality work.

The sheer amount of content that is available to create is mind-boggling. Calendars, spreadsheets, YouTube thumbnails, logos, excel spreadsheets, and so much more. For free!

Remember how I use Remove.bg for all my thumbnails? After the backgrounds are removed from my photos, I dump them into Canva and get to work!

Pfpmaker.com

Pfpmaker is a tool that coincides with Bg.remove. It automatically generates 20+ profile pictures from the image you upload to their website. This is perfect for overhauling your LinkedIn or any other social media app.

Toggl

Are you getting into a freelancing career? Are you tired of doing flat rates for projects and want to jump to timed contracts? Well, Toggl is here to help.

For all of my freelancing friends, Toggl is a terrific way to track your time while working. You can create accurate and trustworthy time quotes with Toggl for free. Easy to use and incredibly reliable, Toggl is worth checking out for any freelancer.

Pexels

Another favorite for all of Medium’s excellent writers, Pexels is a must-use tool for us bloggers and writers.

Pexels is a service that provides free stock photos for use on various projects. Each photo has different licensing options, so check whether the creator would like you to credit them (most often than not, it’s best to credit every time). There are countless stock photos that you can use for free!

This tool is essential for blogging. Even better, it’s completely free to use!

That’s all, folks!

Being a creative can break the bank from time to time, so sharing these free tools with you is something I’ve wanted to do for some time.

I’ve used all six of these tools for over a year and have seen drastic improvements in my work quality; the best part is that each is entirely free. I hope you can also use these six tools to your advantage.

Are there any free tools that should fall into this list? Comment them down below so that more creators can benefit from them!

Enjoy the post? You may enjoy these as well:

--

--