WRITING ADVICE

6 Reasons Not to Start Your Online Writing Journey With A Blog.

And Why You Should Start Writing on a Platform Instead

Tuhin Patra
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Two years ago, after making some cringy videos on YouTube, I understood that writing would have to be how I express myself on the Internet.

Like many, I thought starting a blog was the way to go. I validated the idea by watching an unhealthy number of ‘Here’s why you should start a blog in 202x’ videos.

It seemed perfect, but I overlooked some nuances, resulting in wasted time and effort. This article aims to take you through my journey so you don’t make the same mistakes I made.

1. Registering your domain name

Creating your own blog is like building your art gallery to display showpieces for people to see and admire.

The first step in the journey is buying your plot of land — registering your domain name.

I agree that having a place you can call your own on the Internet sounds amazing. People from all over the world could type your address and see your creations.

But, finding the perfect domain name is not easy. You never get the one you want. All the good ones are either taken or too expensive.

--

--

Tuhin Patra
ILLUMINATION

Quit my 9 to 5 to reinvent myself. Girl dad. Love talking about Psychology, and Personal development. Read my newsletter: https://www.revivalbytes.com/