6 Things I Learnt From Working in a Social Sciences Lab

Insights from an Ecologist while promoting and creating solutions to toxicity problems in digital ecosystems

Cátia Matos
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Daria Nepriakhina on Unsplash

While working as a Ph.D. researcher, I had the opportunity to collaborate with different people from diverse backgrounds and countries. Social Sciences was not on my radar of interest. Nevertheless, the increased awareness of problematic gender issues in academia and the prevalence of hierarchies over knowledge soon grabbed my attention.

I met a Ph.D. student that came directly from Barcelona and started working on her thesis related to Media studies. After long nights of Tertullian discussions and her eagerness to move forward with her project, my insights as an Ecologist were taken and incorporated as specific elements of her project.

I found myself immersed in a world I knew nothing about — Foucault, Judy Chicago, white feminism, chauvinism, misogynist humor, body & identity, and your body as a receptor and an archive of experiences and emotions.

It filled my curiosity with new insights about how humans express their nature through gender, identity, power, and sex. As a movement ecologist, I could understand how many of these factors were driving the movement and migration of humans worldwide…

--

--

Cátia Matos
ILLUMINATION

Movement Ecology Ph.D / Lecturer in Spatial Ecology / Publishing about research, data and life.