7 Cycling Benefits Not Many Would Tell You!

Nilesh Dilip Bane
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJan 9, 2022

Cycling is gaining serious momentum for obvious reasons, even in cities with not so friendly cycling conditions. Along with multiple health benefits, here are a few more reasons that makes cycling much more fun.

1. Friends, Long time no see!

How often have you stepped out just to meet your friends? Cycling gives you a perfect reason to get together.

Photo courtesy of Author

2. Your Foodie Partner

If you are someone like me who loves being fit as much as eating out, cycling does come to your rescue.

I had shortlisted a lot of food outlets that I wished to visit but never got a chance. With cycling, I ride to some of these spots and satisfy the foodie in me.

The farther the spot, the more fulfilling the delicacy!

3. New Streets!

I have cycled streets in my neighbourhood which I would have never visited on my motorbike.

Who doesn’t love to take leisure rides, feel the wind and relax! You could do that on your motorbike as well but I regret burning fuel for no reason.

4. Mini Vacay!

Get on for longer rides out of the city on a week off, a pit stop at a local restaurant, and once back home, it would tire you for the good, unwinding you!

Photo by Author

5. Legs? Yes!

Legs day can be boring and even though I get a great feeling after squats, there are more chances of me procrastinating legs, week after week.

If this is your problem too, cycling on the other hand can be fun and you could end up exercising your legs more than what you would in the gym.

Photo by Alora Griffiths on Unsplash

Being low in intensity, many a time you would just love to get going and not keep track of the reps unlike during a gym workout.

Even if you feel exhausted, a short break for a few minutes is all it takes to resume your ride.

I recently had knee ligament surgery and squats were not allowed for a year. But cycling was all that I needed, over running, walking or weights.

6. Rewards

Get on to Strava, participate in Decathlon All for Sport events and many more challenges that you’ll find all over social media.

Earn certificates, badges and stay motivated!

Update your bike on Strava, track its kilometres and enjoy a lot more fun stats!

Photo by Author

7. Pride

Participating in the ride for cause events gives my cycling another purpose. Once into cycling, you would come across multiple such events on social platforms.

Also, while on-road riding your bike, you would keep feeling better as you inspire many to join the peloton.

Photo by Author

Check my other story to know how Strava got me moving more, and cycling more.

Ride safe and have fun!

--

--

Nilesh Dilip Bane
ILLUMINATION

Positive perception! Strives for self-improvement & being useful, being fit unexceptionally in daily hustle, Ordinary cyclist, loves reading, coffee, cricket