7 Deep & Clever Quotes From People You’ll Never Know

Unheard wisdom that will help you with being alive.

Roxana Bouwer
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Joe Roberts on Unsplash

Well-chosen quotes are like the 5-MeO-DMT of books. They drop you right into the center of the experience and poke at your soul. Seven to twenty words and you’ve digested the heart of a wise gem. They’re the snack-food of the word world. If your snacks are nourishing and have the potential to make you a better person.

I treasure a good quote. My personal definition: it’s the smallest amount of words required to either make me think deeply, reassure me of the absurdity of life or grant me instant, refreshing perspective when I’ve mentally cornered myself.

I delight in poignant quotes so much that as an angst-filled teen I would read books with a notepad and pen on hand. I’d relish the very personal and privately studious act of copying down any sentences that made me feel connected and less alone in my experience of being alive and hormonal.

I still have a large ring binder that contains aged exam pad paper with fading quotes from teenage reads like “Tuesdays With Morrie”, “The Alchemist” and the first fifteen pages of “The Name of The Rose”.

I suspect that for many of us, a timeless quote is of the same ilk as a favorite book. In my experience, books become favorites…

--

--