7 Quotes I Remind Myself of When I Fear My Writing Will be Inadequate

Ashley Broadwater
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 27, 2020

--

Someone writes in a journal. Books, a laptop, coffee, Polaroids and more are laying on the table next to the journal.
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Back in middle school when I played recreational volleyball, I once cried after a win because I felt like my performance was poor.

Then in college, after joining and leading many clubs, I still worried I wasn’t employable enough.

In other words, I’m hard on myself and I’m scared of inadequacy.

But as a freelance writer, I have to consistently put myself “out there.” My opinions, typos and writing skills are out for everyone to see all the time.

It’s a little short of terrifying.

I keep going, though, because I love it.

Because this is what I want to do. Because out of all areas of my life, writing is something I hold dearest to me and seek validation in most.

I find this humorous now, remembering that in kindergarten I received the Most Expressive Writer Award, but cried because I wanted the Most Friendly Award.

I still care about being friendly, but am more hard on myself with writing. If you also struggle with fearing your work is inadequate no matter how much success you find, I suggest reading the book “Big Magic” by Elizabeth Gilbert and reading the following quotes that have helped me.

“‘You think you can scare me off

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
ILLUMINATION

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater