8 Tips to Get Your First Freelance Project or Client

Here’s what I did to get my first freelance project

Prabani
ILLUMINATION
7 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Photo by Karolina Grabowska: https://www.pexels.com/photo/cheerful-woman-working-on-laptop-and-smiling-4467683/

I was a little girl when I first heard about making money online. That was because one of my relatives, a college student, made a good income from freelancing.

From that day, I dreamed of making money online with the freedom of home.

I was a college student when I started freelancing in May 2020, during the COVID pandemic.

I had more time to focus on freelancing because the universities were closed due to the lockdown.

The first thing I did was, create freelancing accounts on different platforms like Fiverr, People Per Hour, and Freelancer.

I must say that it was not an easy job when getting started. I had to wait more than a month to get the first project, sending proposals to various project posts.

There were several reasons for taking too long to get accepted by a client. I’ll share those in another story.

At first, I did not know much about freelancing or how to send a good proposal. With time, I learned a few important points to consider when sending a proposal.

If you’re sending proposals to project posts on various freelancing platforms, these points might help you a lot.

Here are the tips for you to get started as a freelancer;

#1 Find a job post related to your skill

Before doing any other thing, what you need to do is, find a project post related to your skills.

You need to find a writing project if you’re a content writer. Or, if you’re writing content only in a specific niche, then you need to find a writing project related to that.

For instance, if you’re a health and wellness content writer, you have nothing to do with travel writing projects.

#2 Understand the project requirements

After selecting a relevant project to your skills and expertise, read it carefully.

Go through the description several times until you’re clear about the client’s requirements.

First, make sure you can do the job exactly as specified in the description. If you can’t, simply forget about that project and find another one.

If you’re capable of doing the task, ensure you can deliver the work on time if there’s a deadline. If you can’t, skip it and find another project.

After ensuring that you can do the work on time, as specified in the project description, start writing your proposal.

#3 Write an outstanding proposal

This is the most important thing as it will be the first thing the client sees.

You never get a second chance to make a great first impression.

Start with introducing yourself with 1 or 2 sentences. Make it brief. Don’t write long paragraphs about who you are.

Most of the time, the client doesn’t need to know more about you, but they do need to learn more about what you’re capable of.

Describe what you understood by reading the project description in your own words.

Tell them how you’re going to complete it. This will make them feel you’ve gone through it carefully and are serious about the task.

If you have similar experiences in the past, state that as well.

Ask them to start a conversation with you if they are happy to hire you.

It can be simple like this.

“I’m available to chat if you’re interested.”

Remember that you should not force the client to buy your service. Instead, convince them that you’re worth hiring.

Don’t write long proposals with unnecessary information.

You may have different skill sets. Maybe you’re good at both content writing and graphic design. But, if you’re bidding on a content writing project, don’t include anything about graphic design unless they’re searching for a content writer to write about graphic designing.

Make it concise, simple, and clear.

Most clients are busy, so they don’t have time to go through all your irrelevant details.

Sometimes, they may skip your proposal if they feel your bid is not specifically addressed their needs.

So, keep it short and to the point.

#4 Ask questions about the project

Asking questions about the project is another great thing you can do to convince the client that you’re serious about it.

You may have several things to clarify because of two reasons.

Either something is missing in the description, or you’re unclear about what is stated.

This way, the client will know your curiosity to learn more about the task. That is a great method to show your interest.

Also, you can notify them if there are mistakes or errors in the instructions.

It can be something like this.

“I see you’ve added X. However, it should be Y, and I think it’s a mistake. Let me know if I’m right.”

This will show your attentiveness. Employers like to hire detail-oriented people.

I have personally experienced this.

During the first few months after starting my freelance journey, I came across a virtual assistant project that caught my eye.

So I read the description, and the client has included a link to an instructional video.

Then I went through that video and noticed a mistake. So I mentioned it in the proposal, and I was the winning bidder for that project.

As I can remember, I had less than 5 reviews at that time. My bid was chosen among 107 bids, and most of the freelancers who ranked higher had hundreds of reviews.

Initially, my bid was not there among the first 50 bids. When I got the project, my bid ranked 1.

A screenshot by the author

#5 Attach a sample if possible

If the client has provided all the necessary information, do a small sample work and attach it to your proposal. So they can make a decision entirely based on your work.

If you can’t do that due to a lack of information or something else, inform them that you’re willing to work on a sample before starting.

This way, the client will know that you’re really into it.

I did not submit a sample for the first project I won on freelancer.com as there was no option to attach a sample. Instead, I mentioned in my proposal that I’m happy to work on a sample.

Then the client responded, and I sent him the file.

Hint: You can upload a sample to Google Drive, Dropbox, or any other file storage platform and include the link in your bid. This is how I send files now.

#6 Be clear about the delivery date

If the client has given a deadline, you must complete the work on or before that day.

Otherwise, state a date that you can deliver the work.

Analyze more than once when estimating the time it will take to complete the task. Sometimes the job might seem easier and less time-consuming, but you’ll understand it takes years to complete when you’re working.

Therefore, think twice and ensure you can deliver the work within that period.

#7 Offer a reasonable price as a new freelancer

I don’t tell you to work for low prices, but if your intention is to attract new clients, you need to offer a reasonable price.

Tell them that you’re working for low prices just because you need to build your profile. You can make an exciting offer for a project like this.

“I’ll complete this project just for $X (half the price of the project), as I am a new freelancer here, and you’ll be my first client if you accept this.”

I did this when I was just starting. I only charged half the price for my first project.

Do you know what happened then?

The client hired me for another project which paid me a good amount. That happened 2 years ago, and he still contacts me whenever he has a new task.

That is how you win clients.

#8 Check for typos and errors in your proposal before you send

Finally, go through the proposal again and again before you hit the send button.

Check for typos and grammar mistakes you’ve made.

You can use a tool like Grammarly for this. Grammarly’s free version will highlight typing errors and grammar issues. I personally use this tool.

After checking everything, hit the send button.

The client will contact you if they want to discuss it more or if they like to award you the project.

Don’t expect a response from the first client you’re sending a proposal to. Sometimes, that happens. But most of the time, that doesn’t.

Be patient.

Don’t let the rejection stop you from bidding on new projects.

Bid on a lot of projects until you win one of those bids.

Eventually, you’ll get what you deserve.

You only fail when you stop trying.

Have you won your first project?

What are the tips you have to share with us?

Let me know in the comments. I’m happy to know about your experience getting the first client.

--

--

Prabani
ILLUMINATION

An avid reader, a passionate writer, and a freelancer.