9 Surprising Things You Don’t Need in Order to Be Happy

Kat McMahon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 29, 2023
One of our many incredible views — Photo Credit: Kat McMahon

OK. Never trust anyone who tells you they know the answer to achieving a happier, more inspired, and more enjoyable life.

With that being said, here’s how to live a happier, more inspired, and more enjoyable life.

We’ve been living and traveling in our 98-square-foot self-converted cargo trailer home for almost a year now.

And….?

I have never felt more content, alive, and happy.

Which… doesn’t make sense.

This new life incorporates little of what we’re told we NEED in order to be happy.

What’s going on?

Here are nine things we don’t have…yet somehow, life is better now than when we had them.

1. Running water

“But…how do you shower?”

I’ll never forget it. We’d left our spot high on a ridge in Montana after a blissful two weeks of enjoying vibrant sunsets, starry nights, and crisp clear peaceful days.

We stop for gas at a Flying J, and I head in to use the restroom. I wander past peeled hardboiled eggs, slumped soggy pre-made sandwiches, T-shirts, and sunglasses that all looked like they’d be right at home on the back of Guy Fieri’s head.

Washing my hands feels spa-like. The endless supply of warm water cascades over my soapy fingers, soothing and warm. It’s so decadent I don’t want it to end — I enjoy it a minute longer than necessary.

But… would I trade it for the freedom of being untethered? Driving back-woods bumpy dirt roads to find a new spot in our modern-day covered wagon? The universe that unveils itself when there’s no light pollution? The closeness and connectivity you feel in nature — in space that hasn’t yet been dug up and reimagined?

Nope.

Running water is great, but so is the feeling of being so far away from civilization that you’re absorbed back into nature. You feel part of something huge.

So here’s how we shower:

Off-grid: bathing involves boiling batches of water, filling a 2-gallon bladder with a hose and nozzle, and using just what you need to get the job done.

Semi-grid: we’re currently living it up at an RV park (which costs a fraction of what people spend on a month’s rent). It has showers! And spigots! We act accordingly; we let it rain! Filling water jugs for toothbrushing, dishes, and our Berkey water filter.

2. A designated kitchen

I’m sitting on the bed, wrapping up work.

In between thoughts, I pause to look out the back window. The fat snowflakes are falling faster now. They settle gently on my husband’s shoulders and land with a sizzle in the cast iron pan on our two-burner Coleman stove.

He’s right outside the window, cooking dinner. Thinly sliced potatoes, diced onion, minced garlic, and a little bacon.

This isn’t normal, I think, most people don’t cook dinner outside while it’s snowing.

Then smile: who cares?

3. A large space

Perhaps size matters to some people in some contexts (wink-wink) but I find it odd that quality of life somehow got correlated with occupying a large space.

I’ve had all sorts of experiences living in different types of homes and it’s clear: a large space just means more room to put things. And “things” I’ve come to learn, are nowhere near as important as they’re made out to be.

98-square feet means there’s just enough room for everything that we love; there’s no room for “eh.”

If I ever want to move back into a “normal” home, I can. This experience has brought me closer to appreciating things I may have otherwise taken for granted. It’s shown how incredible it is to be surrounded by things that matter— things that inspire— and nothing else.

4. My own car

These legs are made for walking.

Our truck tows us from spot to spot and takes us on once-a-week grocery and laundry runs.

5. A closet full of…

I have a single drawer for clothes.

What appears to be two decorative throw pillows are just pillowcases where I stuff all my winter “survival” gear. The down from my winter jacket and pants does an excellent pillow impression.

6. A side hustle

Okay, I never had this one. When living a “normal” life working in an office, I simply didn’t have the energy.

So now, what would have been considered a side hustle (freelance writing!) if I’d tried it in my “old life” is my actual job.

I earn less. Way less…because I can afford to earn less.

7. Money

A little money is good. We all need it. Obviously. However, here’s where many seem to go astray. They take this logic: if a little money is good, then a LOT of money must be better!

Sure, it depends on your priorities and values, lifestyle, and all of that. But truly, I think money in general is grossly overvalued, and people make themselves sick relentlessly pursuing it. Many get so caught up in that quest, they never allow themselves to experience and explore the beauty and abundance of life.

People hail money as this thing that will make all their problems go away. For basic needs and situations, yes. It helps. But all the money in the world couldn’t save Steve Jobs. Couldn’t bring young Prince Harry’s mom back to life.

Money doesn’t make the sun rise or the birds sing, and ultimately, it won’t save us either.

8. External validation

Ok… this one may be a lie. A wee little fib. Because honestly, I enjoy validation. We all do, right? It’s encouraging.

What I think I really mean is, I’ve come to realize the impact external validation has on me. How in the past, it influenced me into making decisions because of others — them.

Becoming more firmly rooted in who you are means not attributing so much of your self-worth to approval received from others.

Abandoning yourself sucks. It doesn’t make you happy.

9. A rulebook on how to live

Perhaps the biggest one of all, I’ll put it in all caps because I think it’s pretty important:

I DON’T WANT WHAT “EVERYONE ELSE” WANTS.

Which begs the question: Do you?

If you’re not hurting anyone else and are taking care of yourself, there’s no “right” way to live. People desperately want to find someone to show them the way. It seems like many feel so lost, so discontent and unhappy, that they’re willing to trust and invest their precious savings into someone who they believe has all the answers.

Here’s the truth: life is so short. There’s beauty, magic, and possibility everywhere. Mix it up, get your hands dirty. Allow yourself to make mistakes. Help yourself to seconds. Why not, right? After all, we’re all just passing through.

--

--

Kat McMahon
ILLUMINATION

Hi! I'm a full-time traveler, part-time writer, sometime musician. I love growth and adventure, and am obsessed with squeezing the most I can out of life.