A 7-Month Lease on Life

I’ve been committed — to hanging around ’til October

Bernard
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

God willing, I have agreed to Remain until October.

Granted, it is not due to typical reasons, like love, life, and family.

No, it’s to see the 7-month CD I just opened through the credit union I belong to through to its maturity. It is one of about a dozen banks that I do business with. I have ended one banking relationship this month although I gained one in return.

I still go to sleep, wake up, consume about a gallon of coffee per day, go to work, eat, drink, spend as much time with my ailing baby as I can, walk 7 miles per day, work some more, read a bit, drink a bit, do some writing, and pay for shit, like lots of shit, more or less out of habit.

I will never be happy again, but every so often I get a brief moment of solace. They are few and far between, but do happen now and then.

When it comes to financial matters, I have always been a grinder and a provider. Go to work, don’t complain too much, pay our bills, pay for college, and send somewhere between a thousand and two to our adult children every month.

By no means are we upper middle class. We are always on the outside of that classification looking up at our friends and (most of our) family from below…

--

--

Bernard
ILLUMINATION

A married father of two adult children and a Morkie. Long-time economic developer, former P.O., avid reader, thinker, investor, and walker.