A Complete Beginner Guide To Write On Medium

From curation to quality writing answers to all your questions in just a one article

Sahil Patel
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJun 1, 2021

--

Photo Credit:- Clayton Robbins On Unsplash

Medium is a great platform to write. I am writing on Medium for more than 12 months. Medium is not an easy platform to understand because of the frequent changes made by Medium.

Medium is a competitive platform to earn money. Only 7% of writers are able to make $100 per month which shows how hard it is to make money on Medium.

I am a non-native English speaker writer on Medium. If you want to know more about my journey, here you can read about my journey.

As a beginner writer, you are confused to write more or write quality articles. When I was new to this platform, this was my biggest problem. I can not be experienced enough to write quality articles in a week.

I know so many of you think that it’s easy to decide because quality articles can get more attention from the readers. You are definitely right. However, you have to write in quantity to improve quality. You will not be going to create a masterpiece in just one day. Practice makes a man perfect. You have to write more in order to write better.

As I have spent one year on this amazing platform. I just want to tell all the beginners who are just starting their journey on Medium to be consistent with your writing, and the rest will be taken care of.

Medium has an incredible audience. I know as a beginner writer, you might not have more views and claps on your articles. To get more attention from the readers, you have to understand what the audience is looking for in your articles.

Now, you all have thought that curation is a big thing on Medium. Then, yes, you are right. Curation will give more exposure to your articles. However, It will not guarantee you to make more money on Medium. Here, are the lessons that I have learned from my curation.

If you are not getting curated, here is another way to get curated. If you are a poet or fiction writer, then I would like to suggest you publish in The Lark publication.

If you are a new writer on Medium, you might not know about De-curation. De-curation is a thing now on Medium. To know more about De-curation, you can read my post below.

Here, is my last advice to all the Medium writers. To be successful on Medium you have to do focus on three things.

  1. Be consistent
  2. Be patient
  3. Be yourself

If you are a writer from a country where the stripe is not supported, you should keep writing on Medium to improve as a writer. Medium is not just a platform to earn money from writing. It is a platform to make your writing better.

Some important point to consider

  1. Be patient, Medium take some time to make you a top writer
  2. Publish daily if possible
  3. Don't obsess with curation
  4. Aim for writing quality article
  5. Be consistent with your writing
  6. Make readers your priority
  7. Don’t write for money
  8. Write for your audience and the rest will take care of
  9. Support your fellow writers
  10. Use your writing money as a motivation fuel

I hope this article will help you to grow on Medium.

--

--