INSPIRE POINTS | CONVERSATIONS | LIFE LESSONS

A Conversation With 7-Year-Old You

What would today’s you say?

Tim Maudlin
Curated Newsletters
2 min readJan 20, 2021

--

Graphic by the Author, Photo by Mom

Pretend with me for a moment that it is possible for you to meet yourself at 7-years-old. Imagine how that conversation would go.

I did this as part of a challenge I was participating in and this is what I imagined 7-year-old Tim would say to me.

Wow, you got paid to draw! That is so cool. I can’t believe you were able to do that. But why did you spend so much time commuting to your job? And why are you still so self-conscious?

When I was seven, I loved to draw. I wanted to be a cartoonist. It never occurred to me that one day I would get paid to draw buildings. But I did.

When I was seven, I hated to be in a car for long periods of time. It never occurred to me that one day I would drive two hours a day to work. But I did.

When I was seven, I was very self-conscious. I hated to get my picture taken. It never occurred to me that one day I would get over that feeling. I didn’t.

Surprises? Some. Regrets? Some.

How would a conversation between today’s you and 7-year-old you go?

--

--

Tim Maudlin
Curated Newsletters

Podcaster | Storyteller | Journaling Coach | Want to Declutter Your Mind? I Encourage Creativity and Soul-Searching with the Power of Pen to Paper