A Crystal Clear View

Ocala National Forest

Aslynn Roe 🐈
ILLUMINATION

--

Alexander Springs is one of Florida’s clear natural springs found in the Ocala National Forest. We camped at the campground, which is a short walk down to the river.

beautiful clear, calm river. Alexander Springs Ocala National Forest, kayak, boat, outdoors, nature travel, photo, Florida, vacation, visit, alligator, adventure, water
Alexander Springs. Photo by author

Canoeing on Alexander Springs is like floating on an aquarium. Paddling on the calm river, I could see the bottom and all the marine life living under the aluminum canoe. I could see schools of minnows, and large striped bass swim below me. Schools of them, just doing what fish do in the clear, cold water. I could see where the fish had nests as the momma fish stood guard over the babies.

There were turtles on shore, enjoying the hot Florida sun as they sunbathed on the dead trees. As I went by, they would extend their long necks and raise their heads to see if I posed any danger. Their feet and hands were out to the ready, in case I got too close and they needed to jump in. I saw one turtle from afar with his head out of the water as he swam. When I got up to him, he completely submersed and swam away from my metal canoe.

I paddled only when I needed to keep moving or to direct myself away from a submerged tree or outcropping of lily pads. It was a gentle paddle, even still, as I didn’t want to make a splash or disrupt anything. I was a visitor in this real aquarium, where you can observe the fish below and watch how they behave.

--

--

Aslynn Roe 🐈
ILLUMINATION

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!