SCBWI PROMPT: CAMPING

A Fun Trip with Friends

And another trip down memory lane.

Rasheed Hooda
ILLUMINATION

--

Camping at Enchanted Rock by Rasheed Hooda

It was the end of Nov 2009 when my friends Melany Morrison, Cathy Thorsen aka Celebriticat, and I went on a camping trip on a Thanksgiving Weekend.

We spent one night at the Pedernales Falls State Park in Johnson City, TX, and one night at the Enchanted Rock State Park. I remember it was wet, cold, windy, and dark when we got to Enchanted Park.

Fortunately, they had good lighting and we were able to set up our tents and slide into our respective sleeping bags. Fun times, and fun memories.

Photo by nagaraju gajula from Pexels

Then there was some solo camping I did about three years ago in the Mojave Desert while I was walking Route 66. At the end of the day, I’d find a level spot off the road, make sure that it was not in a wash, just in case it rained overnight somewhere, I didn’t want to get washed away. I’d pitch my tent and slip into my sleeping bag.

Camping was the prompt for today in the SCBWI daily prompt fro the month of May. One more day to go.

Here are Bob Jasper’s memories of his camping days with his growing family.

Amy Marley offers this poem about camping in Nature.

And Saloni Joshi reminisces about “camping in a mosquito net” in her terrace under the starry skies and imagines herself as a flickering star in the writer’s universe.

One more day to go.

As always, thank you for reading and responding.

More about me:

Rasheed Hooda is a published author and a regular contributor to ILLUMINATION, a writers’ community on Medium where writers support each other.

He is a self-proclaimed weirdo who lives a Freedom Lifestyle and writes about related topics — Travel (a top writer), Personal Growth, Freedom, and entrepreneurship. (Get the Newsletter)

You can let others tell you what it means to be successful, or you can decide it for yourself.”

--

--

Rasheed Hooda
ILLUMINATION

Self-proclaimed weirdo. Jack of Many Trades, Master of Some. Author, Speaker, Photographer. He walked on Route 66 Chicago to L.A. https://ko-fi.com/misterweirdo