A Goblet of Wine

S M Hasnain
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readApr 2, 2024
Photo by Saman Taheri on Unsplash

Ecstatic Saki come and bring!

Come, the brimming wine-cup bring!

Smile, and into laughter break,

Come, the brimming wine-cup bring!

In the cup, expectant lies,

Youth, and youth’s warm, surging blood;

Ecstasy of many kinds,

And of varied colors, hues;

I am Majnoon, turn for me

Into Laila of my dreams,

Bring the brimming cup for me!

I am just a withered flower,

And a garden desolate,

Melody of tears, grief,

Freezing sigh of nightingale;

Breath of life for me become,

Bring for me the brimming cup!

Come! Oh fair-faced Saki, come!

Bring for me the brimming cup!

I am a silent melody,

And a tune forgotten, lost;

Youth frittered away in grief,

Come! Intoxication bring,

And my sense put to flight!

For my pain the balm, become,

Bring for me the brimming cup!

Smile and into laughter break,

Come, the brimming wine-cup, bring!

Raving mad, my dreams ignite,

Overcome my maddening grief;

To the rhythmic beat of life,

Strike the notes of beauty’s strains,

Lover and beloved be,

Bring a goblet full for me!

--

--

S M Hasnain
ILLUMINATION

Passionate writer exploring politics, religion, poetry, society, art, literature, and culture intricacies.