A Jaguar Taught Me That Money Is For Here And Now, Not Just The Future

Richard White
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readApr 24, 2021

--

Some things are about more than money.

Photo by Cody Hamblin on Unsplash

Having worked for a number of years in finance, it has become very difficult for me to look at money as anything other than hard numbers.

“If we spend that, it will cost us X more over the long term.”

“If we hire a cleaner, that’s a thousand pounds a year we could put to overpaying the mortgage.”

While I believe this to be a positive trait, the truth is money is about more than hard numbers.

Money is a tool to help us. That includes having savings, but that needs to be balanced with the life it can give us now.

The world recently lost two brilliant actors: Paul Ritter and Helen McRory. While I knew them only for the shows I had seen them in, rather than their entire bodies of work, their deaths had a profound impact on me.

In fact, their deaths inspired me to fulfil a lifelong dream within little more than a week.

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to own a Jaguar (car, not the big cat).

As a young boy, I marvelled over the boat-like length of the XJs, the sleek lines, and the sheer elegance of the luxury saloons.

--

--

Richard White
ILLUMINATION

Writer, marketer, thinker. Strong opinions loosely held. Writing about life, work, tech (mainly Apple), fitness, and other things. Newsletter: shorturl.at/atZ06