A Letter to My Anger

You will not steal my joy on Easter Sunday…or any other day.

Martha Lueck
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

We meet again, Anger.

I’m writing to you on Easter morning. Of all days, why today? This is supposed to be a day to celebrate Jesus’ return!

Instead, I’m missing my Earthly father who died almost exactly 16 years ago. Why couldn’t he return as well?

Maybe I should be writing a letter to Jesus, taking my anger out on Him. But as a Christian, blaming Him for my anger wouldn’t be fair. Jesus died and rose again so that we will have eternal life in Heaven. My dad has eternal life now, free of pain…all because of Jesus. I should be grateful, right?

Of course, human emotions are just that — human, Earthly. God can take them away. And I can go back to celebrating Jesus’ resurrection, my life on Earth, and my dad’s life in Heaven.

Now that I have laid down my burdens, I will get out of bed, pray, and go to church. I will enjoy a nice lunch and a painting activity with my family.

On April 2nd, I will write my dad a letter, put flowers by his grave, and eat at his favorite restaurant. I will remember that his life on Earth was temporary, but full of love and laughter. Every time I laugh, love, grieve, and curse, Dad and God are with me. I will see them again some…

--

--

Martha Lueck
ILLUMINATION

Published author | Freelance blogger for HealthyPlace.com | Passionate about mental health and Jesus | https://tinyurl.com/5fbu7pj7