A Letter to My Dear Self

No matter how many times I tell myself self-love is important I curse everyone who didn’t tell us this since day one.

Gurpreet Dhariwal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJun 6, 2020

--

Sketched by Gurpreet Dhariwal

Dear self

I was thinking about you a lot. It’s been weeks since I started writing everything to you in my mind than on a piece of paper.
I want to apologize to you. I have not been treating you nicely for the pain others inflicted on me.

I know it’s not right and I am trying every day to treat you like my baby but I am failing at it. I am falling badly to the same dark pit of darkness which I have faced quite consistently in my life. I began my journey of peace in 2019 but then one thing or other kept on happening and it shook me up entirely.

I became strong with time but this event took my courage far away from me. I tell you what betrayal never comes from strangers so when it came from my best friend it made me think about the choices I have made in my life. I have been punishing you for his sins. I know that you are cursing me too. You deserve far better than this my dear self.

I have been super depressed, low, and don’t know the ways to hold you in my arms again. I get lost easily and I run a lot. When I run it makes me think about you a lot because it’s you that stays strong

--

--

Gurpreet Dhariwal
ILLUMINATION

Author of Four books. Domestic Violence Survivor, Domestic Violence Advocate @BTSADV, Sketcher, Dog Lover, Poet. www.gurpreetdhariwal.com/