Photo by JoelValve on Unsplash

A Letter To Running

After 20 years, it’s time for me to share my feelings.

Margaret's Reflections
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2020

--

I remember how it all began. I wasn’t looking for acceptance. I wasn’t looking for love. I wasn’t looking for you.

But we soon became inseparable. I longed for the evenings when I could see you again. To hit the trails with you; to be brave and daring. To push on when I longed to quit. To hear my heart pounding in the fading light. To lose sight of my running partner and catch up to her at the last minute.

I never knew I would love you this long. Through good and bad we have held on. Through cotton burns, black toenails and friction I stayed with you. I praise the day the starting gun went off; when we ran into the distance of the first marathon. The highs of seeing the finish line and the banana at the end of the run. This letter is a token of my love to you.

Through Nike, Body Armour, Running Balance and Adidas; we have sung through the trails. In the silence of the morning, the bustle of the evening, we danced to the pounding of the tarmac. This letter is a token of my love to you. Thank you for the years of running.

Through the parks, the streets and treadmills we have felt the pull of the muscles, the sweat in our eyes and the excitement of the final lap. Alone or in the crowd; you have been the love of my life…

--

--

Margaret's Reflections
ILLUMINATION

Articles on my recovery journey after a toxic relationship. Here's what you need to know after leaving an abusive relationship: https://bit.ly/3Qd5973