A Letter to the Little Me

To the sweet and innocent you.

Raichal Joju
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

Dear lil me,

This is your future self, greeting you from the other corner of the world.

How are you doing?

Are you back from school yet?

You are most likely sitting in front of the TV watching your favourite cartoon while munching on an evening snack. The only thought you probably had in mind on your way from school was,

“What delicious food did mommy cook for me today?”

Believe me, your obsession with food hasn’t changed a bit. If anything, it is only more.

I can confirm you are not a picky eater anymore. You absolutely eat everything. Even the most unhealthy junk food. I apologise for that.

I swear I am not proud of it.

I will definitely start eating healthy. Pinky promise.

Fake promises!

That wasn’t me. That was my older self (your granny self) scoffing and rolling her eyes. She apparently finds it unbelievable.

That vile woman!

I can’t blame her though. Maybe she is taking the suffering for my actions.

Well, let me give you a little advice.

Do not ever do anything that could harm your future. Always consider the consequences of your actions. I know it’s hard for your pretty little head to understand this. But as the future you, I think I have a certain responsibility to teach you and make you understand from my experiences so far.

I don’t know how to sugar coat this, but adulthood is not all rainbows and unicorns.

You are in the phase of your life where you so badly want to grow up. When you see all the adults living their life, you look up to them and want to be in their shoes. I understand that feeling because I have been there.

It doesn’t look as happy as you see from your ‘130 cm point of view’. Everything looks colourful from down there.

That is the beauty of childhood honey. I hope you can understand the worth of it.

Adulthood is not all fun and games. I am not saying it’s miserable either. You can most certainly enjoy a lot. However, the life that you have right now is beautiful and peaceful.

When you grow up, there are certain decisions you need to make in your life on your own, without the helping hands of your parents. Sometimes it scares you to be in a position where you have to choose between right and wrong. You might even make bad choices.

Everyone makes mistakes and that’s okay.

Every obstacle you overcome is a lesson to learn from.

Look at your obstacle as your most difficult subject in school. I know you work a lot on the subjects that you find hard and also get annoyed when you can’t understand it. But doesn’t it feel great when you are finally able to score high in that subject? Every obstacle you face is going to be just like that.

The process is hard, but the result is rewarding.

However, you are not going to get the result overnight. It is going to take time.

Every good thing in life takes time. You just need to be patient.

You will meet a lot of people in the future. Different kinds of people with a lot of opinions. Some opinions will encourage you and motivates you while others might pull you down.

One thing you need to do is, do not ever let people’s opinions affect you too much. Their opinions are their’s.

There are some people who will find fault in everything that you do. Make sure you don’t let them get in your head.

At the end of the day, you cannot please everyone and that’s okay.

Always be honest and true to yourself.

Be sure of the decisions you make in life. Do not let your temporary anger affect your actions which you will regret later on. Think thoroughly before you do anything. Do not do anything out of spite.

Believe in yourself and your abilities. If you trust yourself to achieve something, you can most certainly get to the finishing line.

Live life the way you want. Not the way others think you should.

Enjoy every bit of your beautiful life. Do not ever dwell on the past. Always move on to the next chapter.

There are going to be beautiful moments in life which you will cherish.

Life is a roller-coaster ride. Some parts of it are exciting, while the others are scary.

Do not worry my sweet child. You are going to love it.

Cherish your innocence. Allow no one to taint it.

Keep going! You are doing great sweetie.

Yours truly,

Future you

--

--

Raichal Joju
ILLUMINATION

I put my thoughts into words, those words into reality and combined it is a whole roller coaster ride. I mean who doesn’t love amusement parks, right?