A Life-Changing Encounter With A Writer

Writing isn’t all about winning.

Zsanyla Cabansag
ILLUMINATION
4 min readApr 28, 2020

--

Three years ago, I came face to face with one of the Philippines’ reputed writer, Joel P. Salud. He is the editor-in-chief of Philippines Graphic Magazine, a renowned newsweekly and literary publication in our country.

My memory is fickle, and retracing events is something I suck at doing. However, my encounter with him is a distinct tape that is burned brightly into my memory.

I remember following him in the hallway, shaking his hand, and telling him how much I admire his lecture. He gave me an appreciative look and thanked me with a brimming smile.

I was overjoyed. I couldn’t believe he actually talked to me. Plus, his vibe was so cordial I felt I was speaking with a friend.

For a few seconds, I was mulling over whether I should go back to my seat or continue the conversation. After all, it’s not every day you get to meet someone whose words are as powerful as a Nobel laureate.

“Hindi po ako nanalo (I didn’t win).” I blurted like a cat on a hot tin roof. When I realized the depth of what I said, I desperately wished I could take it back.

I knew it was an odd thing to say, mainly because he served as the judge in our writing contest. I should not have said it. I did not want him to get the wrong idea that I was questioning his sagacity because I wasn’t.

I was just an overwhelmed fan, confused about what to say or do in front of her idol. And usually, when you are in a “wow-this-is-so-amazing-I-can’t-believe-it” trance, your words betray you like a predator lurking behind the bushes, waiting for the right time to attack his mindless prey.

I expected his voice to fall flat. Not hostile, exactly, but not friendly as well. More of a “So what? You’re not alone.” pitch. To my surprise, he looked at me reassuringly and his words heralded the beginning of what I thought an end to my writing pursuit.

“That’s okay. Maybe next time.”

Five words. Okay, six if I haven’t contracted ‘that’ and ‘is’ but whatever. It was the most heartening words I heard after years of writing. Not that I didn’t lose from my previous competitions nor I haven’t heard it from my kins but hearing it personally from a prominent writer whom I look up to felt extremely heavenward.

I wasn’t sure if he noticed but I knew when he looked at me, my face was raw and open like my emotions were draining from all parts of my face.

“That’s okay. Maybe next time.”

Words that seemed nothing to many, but it was a starburst of encouragement to me. From what I have understood, “That’s okay. Maybe next time” means “Don’t give up. Never stop writing.”

Never stop writing.

These string of words simply meant that no matter what I do and no matter where I go, my voice shouldn’t be watered down by external forces such as judgments and labels. Writing isn’t just about winning a literary competition. It’s all about having the freedom to pour your thoughts into words and grounding them with the truth and reality. It’s about acknowledging that you have a voice, and it’s worthy of being heard by millions of people.

Of course, the sweet feeling of winning a writing competition is surreal. The feat serves as a badge of erudition and distinctiveness — that your voice is graced with unyielding vigor and meaning, and it stood out in the rivalry.

However, let’s not forget that there is also beauty in losing. When you lose, take it not as a sign of frailty. Instead, hold it as a precious opportunity to muster your skills and condense them into glowing gems until they shine like stars on earth.

My encounter with Mr. Salud has changed my writing journey ever since. Today, I am writing with a teeming heart, unbridled by the fear of judgment and failing. And I am here to share the message to you:

Never stop writing.

Never stop writing because writing means learning, and learning is constant.

Never stop writing because all of your words count; be it an adjective or a noun.

Never stop writing because it’s the only way to uncover the intricate possibilities of the world.

Never stop writing because you have the power to change the world.

Zsanyla Cabansag is a teacher by profession and a writer by heart. She works as a freelance writer for travel and technology websites. Stalk her musings and misadventures on her Wordpress blog.

--

--

Zsanyla Cabansag
ILLUMINATION

A twenty-something damsel who dives into 400-page realms to escape reality.