A Me And The Many Companions

Gratitude to the fur balls

Divya Goswami
ILLUMINATION
2 min readAug 30, 2023

--

Pictures of the author from her private collection over the years with her fur balls. Collage created with Canva.

In you I find the body guard
following even when the shadows leave my side

In you I find the destroyer
teaching me to detach from the material

In you I find the teacher
to think about every plastic step I take

In you I find joy
acknowledging our give and take in the fleeting moments

In you I find simplicity
playing with unmaned objects and then letting them be

In you I find a seeker
unafraid to try every experience in your journey

In you I find a rebel
defying the rules and barked orders of the others

In you I find an angel
caring with devotion unconditionally

In you I find a witness
watching with all your senses, this life going by

In you I find nothing but love
for I am loved back manifold in abandon

.

.

.

As the eyes fill, soaking the heart and soul… in gratitude to the dogs who live with me beyond years, the ones I had brief street encounters with, the ones rescued from being unwelcome … you have healed, taught and loved me beyond words.

Let us all continue to live in harmony with the many creations of existence. Acknowledging to create a safer enviornment, cleaner planet and a better space to breathe.

The author is an Indian Classical Dancer, Performer, Educator, Storyteller, Writer and TEDx Speaker. For more works from her, do follow on Instagram and Facebook.

--

--

Divya Goswami
ILLUMINATION

Kathak Exponent & Educator. Artistic Director & Owner of Divyakala. Writer & Storyteller about Indian Heritage, Arts & Life. TEDx Speaker. National Awardee.