Decoding Knowledge Management Systems

A No-Nonsense Guide To Personal Knowledge Management Systems

Your in-depth fundamental guide to understanding what is personal knowledge management (PKM)

Owen Robert McGregor
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readJan 3, 2024

--

Image from the Author

Why should you read this?

Back in February 2021, I went back to University and quickly realised that I needed a system for learning. This was when I came across ‘Personal Knowledge Management’, which will be abbreviated to PKM.

Diving into the topic, I came across Tiago Forte’s blog and his idea of “Building a Second Brain”, putting his ideas into practice around March of 2021.

However, over 2-years of applied expertise, I began to have misgivings about the methods and frameworks I initially learned. Simply, I could see the misalignment between the purpose of our PKMs.

Additionally, I wanted to understand this topic more fundamentally as it was becoming more critical to my life as I just started a company in December 2021.

It was around July 2023, that I started researching the topic of PKMs laboriously. Synthesising my findings into a new fundamental understanding by November 2023.

--

--

Owen Robert McGregor
ILLUMINATION

Economics Prodigy from Melbourne 🇦🇺 Globe-trotting nomad 🌍 Obsessed with becoming a Modern-day Polymath 🧠 Follow for a curated list of my insights💡