DECODING TASK MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS

A No-Nonsense Guide to the ‘Getting Things Done’ Method

Your guide to understanding what is the GTD Method by David Allen

Owen Robert McGregor
ILLUMINATION
Published in
11 min readMar 5, 2024

--

Image from the Author

A little personal history with GTD

When I fully completed my PKM back in July 2021, I used Notion’s databases to create an inferred version of GTD for tracking and prioritising my tasks. However, I was violating a lot of common principles laid out in “Getting Things Done” by David Allen because I didn’t read his book until recently, only inferring what I should be doing from tertiary information.

It was during the switch from Notion to Obsidian in October 2023, that I stopped using my inferred version of GTD and started researching the GTD Method in February 2024. The impact of this research profoundly changed my approach to time management.

I believe that the reason that “Getting Things Done” is a book that people own, but never read, is not due to a lack of quality in the idea but a lack of quality in the writing. For this reason, I am sharing my consolidated understanding of GTD, after studying this book back-to-front and what I have discovered from inferring GTD’s core message.

What is GTD?

--

--

Owen Robert McGregor
ILLUMINATION

Economics Prodigy from Melbourne 🇦🇺 Globe-trotting nomad 🌍 Obsessed with becoming a Modern-day Polymath 🧠 Follow for a curated list of my insights💡