A-Okay

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readApr 2, 2021

Do I have anything else to say about autism?
Just the same old spectrum, nothing’s changed.
But I kinda like it like that, there’s no issue.
So I’ll go about my day and say, still say-

I’m still a-okay.
Still no other way I’d choose anyone but me.
I’m still living.
I’m still knowing that
I’m always a-okay.

Good to know that one-track mind is still thriving.
Good that honesty’s still the best policy.
I should be less awkward but I can’t help it.
So let me be mature in my immaturity.

I’m still a-okay.
Still no other way I’d choose anyone but me.
I’m still living.
I’m still knowing that
I’m always a-okay.

A little bit of acceptance
can take you further than you’ve ever known
and the ones who don’t, just remember,
it says a lot more about them than it does about you…

So,
good continuing feeling far from normal.

I’m still a-okay.
Still no other way I’d choose anyone but me.
I’m still living.
I’m still knowing that
I’m always a-okay.

A-okay.

--

--

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION

27. Instagram: @zachkerman “You've gotta be original, because if you're like someone else, what do they need you for?”