A Question Which Is Worth Asking

A question you must ask yourself.

Aman Daniel
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJul 4, 2024

--

Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash
https://unsplash.com/photos/logo-81PkOTYkN2Y

It is tough to write these stories when you are yourself going through a phase of self improvement. When I am not a master of words and writings.
But I have got something to tell. And I am telling it anyways. When writing, I am also questioning the same question from myself. So that this all makes sense at the end.

Does This Behavior Help Me Become The Type Of Person I Wish To Be?

Often time I read about behaviors and behavioral changes. The simple thought is, ‘We became what We do’. And the question above is a extension. We change our behaviors by making and breaking habits. Habits are actions which are repeated enough times so that it changes how we behave.

Changing Behaviors

Well, how we behave also depends on human ancestry. That’s because you are not you but some of all people that have lived before. The fact that it sometimes seems hard to change how we behave because these all acts are evolutionary.

Eolutionary changes are rooted deep inside us. For example – In times when humans lived in caves. Fear of death was always there. And it was also needed, because back then fear was the thing which reminds of a Thought – Be aware. This is the only life you got. Did you know, what this evolutionary instinct has given us?

Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash
https://unsplash.com/photos/yellow-and-brown-duck-cartoon-character-t0Bv0OBQuTg

• Impressions

It seems out of track? Let me explain.

It gives instinct to the modern man to judge people they meet for the first time. Because the fear of death also unlocks when we see something unknown or new.

And you know it results in – we make an impression on people in 100 millisecond (tenth of a second).

What To Do With The Question?

Anyway only diagnosing the problem is not enough. Finding the core solution is needed.

There are many ways to change how we behave and give a good direction to our future. And mostly all answers consist of changing habits. Because habits can be seen as the smallest actions.

So it seems practical to make or break them. Often, breaking is harder than making.

I have heard very good quote somewhere...

“If you want to learn, first unlearn which is not needed”.

Aman Daniel :)

--

--

Aman Daniel
ILLUMINATION

I can provide you value through my writings. "I want you to walk away with some Value". Visit My Website – www.amandaniel.in