A Scary Movie That Made Me Jump

Hold on tight to your popcorn, this is going to get your nerves jangling.

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readAug 2, 2020

--

Photograph of a poster by Universal Pictures

This morning I was reading an excellent article by a very good writer friend of mine, Akos Peterbencze, and he set me back thinking quite a lot really. You see, I studied film at university and ended up teaching the subject. I also went into acting in film and television as an actor.

Apart from doing lots and lots of soaps and drama series, I had a role in 'The Dresser' (blink and you'll miss me) with Albert Finney (for whom I was a stand in) and Tom Courtney. And yes I was on the platform at York railway station when 'Sir' (Albert Finney) yelled out......

" STOP THAT TRAAAAAAAAIIIIIINNNNNN."

So I do have quite an abiding interest in the subject.

And before you ask which are my fave films, I have to tell you one of my all time favourite films was Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick. I just love a good sci-fi movie, as long its science is believable.

And then I was thinking back to about 2005 when post separation and divorce I took to staying at home watching dozens, if not hundreds, of films. I saw many great films during that reclusive period of about ten years, some long forgotten, some not so.

--

--

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION

Author, writer, Illumination Editor, Top Writer in short stories and poetry.https://www.amazon.com/author/ryanobryan