Animal Behavior

An Electronic Fence Was the Only Deterrent Between Us

A seemingly safe walk turns into an attack

Vera-Marie Landi
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJun 28, 2023

--

He can’t get me, I was told, as he’s behind an electronic fence. A lot of good that did when he set his sites on my butt walking by.
Photo by Yousef Espanioly on Unsplash

One of my favorite forms of exercise has always been walking. Any time the weather was in my favor, I would be out there enjoying nature, getting exercise, and feeling perfectly safe, until one night when I wasn’t.

A new walking buddy

Having always walked alone, I was thrilled to adopt a little Lhasa Apso, whom I named Roy. He quickly became my walking buddy, as he was full of energy and loved being outdoors. Whenever he heard me take the leash down from the hook it was on, he knew we’d be getting ready for one of our long walks, and he’d dance in little circles by the door.

We avoided heavily wooded areas due to bears and heavily trafficked areas to keep safe, especially since I loved to walk later in the evening.

Along the trail we favored, which led to a lake road, it was necessary to walk past this house on the corner, which included a large yard and a long dog enclosure.

One night, as we were coming up on this property, a large boxer seemed to come from out of nowhere and very menacingly began barking at us. For an instant, I was scared because it was out of its cage, but the owner, who…

--

--

Vera-Marie Landi
ILLUMINATION

I'm retired, love spending time with family, writing, and working on 3 pubs: 'Dancing My Way Through Life,' 'Digging Up Bones,' and 'Women Who Use Tools.'