A simple hack that no one will share to grow on Medium in 2024.

Abdullah Saifullah
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 26, 2024
Featured Image Generated by Co-Pilot

Hi fellas, the title might seem like clickbait, but believe me, I am honestly sharing my own case study on how I’ve grown on Medium from zero to an intermediate or beginner level.

I will share everything that will help you start your Medium journey now.

Before beginning, I just wanted to share my background with you. I am a university student and also work as a full-time Frontend Developer for a company. I am a full-stack web developer who mostly works with front-end technologies and has a lot of expertise in WordPress. I started blogging on Medium as a side hustle. I created an account in February. I am from Pakistan, so I cannot apply to the partner program. But as I mentioned before, I was taking it as a side hustle and just wanted to explore the platform. I published my first blog randomly without thinking a lot.

I was struggling to choose a niche initially, but then I started to focus on tech-related topics. However, nothing seemed to be working. You can see my progress in the screenshots below. The first month was very miserable for me. I published about 11 articles but only got 80 views and 26 reads. I thought this wasn’t going to work for me. But then I found out about publications on the internet.

I started researching and found that publications are organizations or communities that allow their writers to broadcast their stories to a wider audience. I thought that would be great, but no publication was accepting me because I was a newbie. Then I found the best Medium publication, Illumination. This publication not only has top-rated Medium writers but also supports newbies like me.

I submitted a proposal to join them as a writer but didn’t get any response for about two and a half days. Then I got a confirmation email, and from then on, I started writing for them. I wrote about two articles in March, and this time I focused more on quality rather than quantity. I started researching my audience, SEO, keyword searching, trending topics, etc. However, I still didn’t get any significant results; I only got 97 views and 29 reads in the month of March.

I continued publishing stories consistently and eventually noticed an increase in my views and reads. Here, I want to advise newbies to be patient. I was patient and continuously put in the effort regardless of my situation.

As Jack Ma said,

Today is difficult, tomorrow is much more difficult, but the day after tomorrow is beautiful. Most people give up tomorrow evening.

After seeing success with the publication, I joined the Medium membership for a month, and that changed everything. I saw a significant increase in my views and reads soon after, within a week or 10 days of joining the Medium membership. You can analyze the screenshots and see the boom in the views and reads of my articles.

My honest advice or path for young newbies who want to start blogging on Medium is to create your base in the first two months and explore the platform. Then, join a publication. I personally recommend Illumination because it supports newbies a lot. Next, join the membership program in the fourth or fifth month. I guarantee this will work. You can analyze my progress on the platform.

I pray for all you newbies to stay happy and grow on this platform while engaging with other fellow creators and writers.

My Progress on the Platform So Far

My Progress in February 2024
My Progress in March 2024
My Progress in Aprill 2024
My Progress in May 2024
My Progress in June 2024

That’s it for today, guys. Please leave a comment on the story and let me know if you have any concerns or need further clarification. Thanks!

--

--

Abdullah Saifullah
ILLUMINATION

Web Developer & Content Creator | WordPress & SPA Lover | Blogger | Committed to Problem-Solving & Growth. Sharing Self-Improvement tips & Life Experiences.