30 Day-Challenge

A Snapshot From College

What a weekend night looked like for me during my first semester in college

Brandon Foster
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMay 18, 2024

--

Photo by Michael Marsh on Unsplash

Not a Medium member? Read HERE for free.

Friday was movie night. I usually sat on my top bunk bed with a bowl of popcorn and my laptop. My college dorm desk replaced the lower bunk in my shared 10x15 dorm.

Tonight’s movie was Singing in the Rain, one of my favorites.

My roommate had left for the night to hit the town with our other mates. I used to go with them, but I hated walking around so late, only trying to get into some party. I was underage, didn’t drink to get drunk, didn’t want drugs, and wasn’t going to sleep with a girl. What was the point?

At this stage in college, my friends were my laptop and popcorn. They were as loyal as they were silent.

I jumped down momentarily to hit the lights and crawled back into my bed. Lights, camera, “I’m singing in the rain!…”

Brandon Foster is an author and teaches history and theology. He lives in Mississippi, where he works at a small private school and on a farm his family owns. With a degree from Liberty University and a passion for Jesus and the past, Brandon writes articles discussing the Bible, Christian history, and everything surrounding the two.

Follow and subscribe for more!

--

--

Brandon Foster
ILLUMINATION

What's up?! I am an author who loves to write about God and how to help men grow in maturity. Follow to join my journey!