A Stabbing Pain that Comes and Goes

Jia Wei Sii
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 23, 2021

--

You promised,
You will attend my graduation ceremony,
I have just received the invitation,
It is the 25th of May,
Next month.

Would you come?

You promised,
You will buy me stalks of flowers,
With my favorite Hello Kitty in the bouquet.

Do you remember?

You said,
You would like to dress in red,
On the day I put on my graduation cap,
You even showed me the gown you want to wear.

But I don’t think I will see you in it anymore.

Mom,
You said you will fly to stay with me in September,
You said you will help me to tidy up my bed while I am leaving to work,
You said you will prepare a table of meals waiting for me to come home,
You said you will cook me chicken soup every weekend for our good health,
You said you will stay quiet, not to talk to me every time I am in a meeting,
You said we can just squeeze to sleep like how you did when I was still a baby,
You said we can go shopping every weekend when I am free,
You said we can go one-day trip during my public holidays,
You said my sisters can come and stay together when they are free,
You said you want to see us marry one day and plan our weddings with us,
You said you want to live until 80 years old to take care of your grandchildren.

--

--

Jia Wei Sii
ILLUMINATION

AI | Machine Learning | Computer Vision | VR | AR | Math