A Story I Must Tell

Zsanyla Cabansag
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 27, 2020
Image by Shift and Sheriff from Pixabay

Let me tell you a story
about a girl who bleeds and writes
of stories and poems
containing broken rhymes.

Let me tell you her experiences;
her nightmares and fears.
How she endured all of it
without shedding a single tear.

Let me tell you her personality;
but wait, you wouldn’t understand.
She’s a mystery inside an enigma
and no one bothers to lend a hand.

Let me tell you how she brought forth life;
a beautiful angel named Yzla.
A seed of hope, beauty, and wonder;
With divine wings, she flew into the heaven yonder.

Let me tell you her pain of losing
Her firstborn, the alpha of her world.
An empty cradle and an aching arms
She lost her brightest hue.

Let me tell you how she succeeded
with the thought of overcoming the agony
but no, she actually didn’t
until now she succumbs to a life unworthy.

Let me tell you how she lost
her sanity, rhymes, and words.
Her will to write and will to fight
for everything blurs in a piercing dim.

Let me tell you a story
about her, the maker of this piece
oh wait, I’ve already told you
read the poem again, please.

Zsanyla Cabansag is a ‘lady of feelings’ and a lover of serendipities. She writes about books, love, and dolce-far-niente. Stalk her musings and misadventures on her Wordpress blog.

--

--

Zsanyla Cabansag
ILLUMINATION

A twenty-something damsel who dives into 400-page realms to escape reality.