A Story of Finding Peace Within

Zai
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readApr 3, 2024

--

Photo by eduard on Unsplash

The pandemic happened and some of us utilized this time for reflection and planning our future, while others developed addictions to playing video games and mindlessly scrolling through social media, and this is what happened to me.

In 2022, I decided to watch YouTube videos about breaking free from excessive social media use.

It was tough convincing myself to join those who deleted their accounts and focus on real life because I had a lot of excuses not to delete it, especially my Instagram page.

I often tell myself that my page helps me be okay and express what I love. Learning to use it less makes it hard to do.

It is tough, but I’m already aware that it triggers my anxiety and depression, so why stay there, right?

I am already living in the internet world where I can’t focus on what is here in front of me: the real world.

Here are some things that helped me:

Writing and Reading

It’s my hobby to write anything I want and to read, but it disappeared when I started getting into social media. However, I can also say that reading is really helpful, whether it’s my hobby or not.

First, I can start reading as a habit to regain my attention. It not only helps me divert my attention, but it also adds knowledge to my brain that I can use in the future

When it comes to writing, expressing points of view can be beneficial. Whether it’s for a journal, articles, or for my blog that I want to share, it can significantly aid me mentally and emotionally.

Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

Listening to some Podcasts

These days, I have learned to expand my listening habits from just music to including podcasts. It serves as valuable learning for my mental and emotional well-being.

Here are some podcasts that I listen to:

  • TED Talks Daily by TED
  • A Bit of Optimism by iHeartPodcasts
  • How to Be a Better Human by TED and PRX
  • Bought + Beloved with Kirby Kelly by Kirby Kelly & Converge Podcast Network
  • UNFREEZE by Zoe Carton
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Spending Time with Loved Ones

Spending time with the people I love has become a bit challenging nowadays. I often prioritize my online life over my real relationships. Every day, I strive to spend quality time with them to shift my focus back to reality.

I invite them for a walk, watch a movie, eat dinner together, or engage in casual conversations about random topics. One day, for sure, I will look back and be grateful that I spent time with them in these kinds of gatherings.

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Asking for Help

Perhaps some of us have experienced the loss of someone due to suicide. Reflecting on such experiences, I may wish I had understood their struggles better and intervened to support and save them.

Now, I empathize with others — those who love and care for me. Undoubtedly, they would experience the same heaviness I feel upon receiving news of my absence.

So I asked myself, why not reach out to someone, message, or call them, and tell them about my daily struggles? This simple act can bring about more change than I can imagine.

When I was learning again how to ask for help, I realized that there was nothing wrong with asking for help when I truly needed it. It does not signify weakness; rather, it demonstrates courage to lower my pride and walls and seek assistance. This act of seeking help reaffirms my strengths, as it shows my willingness to prioritize my well-being.

Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

I know that getting off of social media can be scary. It feels like I will fall behind, not knowing what is happening in the world and with the people I care for. However, trying to be off without it is worth it.

--

--