A Valuable Lesson in a Candy Bar

Mary Ingram
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2022

--

Photo by Behnam Norouzi on Unsplash

Life lessons are all around us. But the best kind is when you get your favorite piece of chocolate.

While speaking at a youth leadership conference, I wanted to get the audience personally involved. I invited a team of young people on stage to join me.

I brought out a big bucket of candy — Snickers, Twix, Hershey, M&Ms, Skittles. You name it. I think I had a dozen of each.

I began handing out a piece of candy to each of the students. Without any further instruction, I listened to their conversation.

One student said to another, “Oh darn! I wanted that one.”

Another said, “I could eat 12 of these.”

After a short pause, I said, “ If everyone is happy with their treat, you can go ahead and eat it.” Most of the students did not open their candy. There was an awkwardness in the group.

I asked the team of students, “What’s up?”
The students looked at each other and then one young lady asked, “Can I trade mine for a Snickers?

I said, “Of course.” As I reached into the bucket for her selection, I explained that the best way to get what you want in life is to ask for it. You don’t have to settle for what you’ve been given.

--

--

Mary Ingram
ILLUMINATION

Author, TEDx Speaker, Former Juvenile Diversion Coordinator and Founder Volunteer Nebraska Inc. www.maryingram.com & www.volunteernebraska.org